- advertisement -

Yay for dexcom!

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by AliciaM, Jan 13, 2014.

1. AliciaM

AliciaM Approved members

So I will be getting my dexcom next week :) I didn't have enough $ to order. I had a meltdown a few days ago because I have a lot on my plate and I think the cgm will make life just a bit easier. I've read SO many great things about dexcom and its accuracy. So I ended up taking some funds from my RSP. I'm 24 so I don't think it's going to made a huge difference on retirement for the amt I took out.

That being said. I got alcohol wipes and skin tac wipes so that the sensor can get more wear and that it won't sweat off or come off in water.
    Is it ok to take baths in? Also I know people do arm sites, thighs, tummy etc. Is there a good place for a first time spot? I do cheerleading so I tumble and am a flyer. Any other tips? I'm so excited :)

2. Junosmom

Junosmom Approved members

Alicia, I don't have any advice (I'm new to this) but just wanted to say congratulations and I'm excited for you. Best of luck!

3. JessiF

JessiF Approved members

Congrats! We started our toddler on Dexcom at the end of December and we love it. It has helped me avoid or find out about lows that I would not have known about because I would have assumed he was just soundly sleeping.

The first site we used was his upper bum. It worked okay but got rubbed by his diaper (we use cloth) and pants waistline. Next we used the back of his arm and although I thought his arms would be too small for that it actually works great. His readings are sometimes VERY accurate.

The first sensor lasted one week. It held fine while I was bathing him in the sink and avoiding getting it wet. Once he took a real bath the adhesive started coming up at the edges.