- advertisement -

Whats in your pantry- just curious?

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by jkrjk, May 8, 2014.

1. jkrjk

jkrjk Approved members

So this is not meant to be a controversial post by any means, but I know it seems to be a hot topic. I really just wanted to get a general feeling of what your type 1 kids eat or don't eat? I am still new to this…9 yr old daughter diagnosed 6 months ago, but her eating habits have not changed at all- they are pretty much the same as my other kiddos.

What this specifically means is that we generally eat pretty healthy most of the time, but definitely still have "kid food" around. There are fruity pebbles in my pantry- does she have them every morning? no. But probably once a week? She has dessert when the other kids have dessert. We have approached this as trying to make her life as normal as possible- I didn't have a huge pantry clean out when we got home from the hospital.

Just wondering how others have handled it? Thanks in advance!

2. Christopher

Christopher Approved members

I am tempted to advise you to delete this thread (half-way kidding). Because it sounds like what you are doing is working for you and makes a lot of sense. Your child is eating reasonably healthy, but has not drastically changed their diet because of diabetes. That is great! Your approach about making things as normal as possible is really good also, especially for a newly dx family. So it really shouldn't matter what other people do or don't do.

That said, I completely understand the need to hear what others do and maybe reinforce the way you are handling things. I hope you get a lot of good responses and also that they don't change what you are doing because I think you are doing fine. :smile:

Oh, to answer your question, our pantry is the same as it was before diabetes, there is only one thing that is no longer there (and it wasn't really there much to begin with) and that is the "evil"......PopTarts!!