- advertisement -

What Do You Think When You See These Stories on the News?

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by Turtle1605, Jan 20, 2013.

1. Turtle1605

Turtle1605 Approved members

I'm fairly new at this. I was wondering about your thoughts about this particular story on NBC news. It's about the two cancer drugs that seems to have cured type 1 in mice. You'll have to copy and paste...and I hope it works.

http://video.msnbc.msn.com/nightly-news/27774926#27774926

Do you get excited when you see these stories? Is this story any different than others you've seen? I ask this because I'm getting a little bit bored and disappointed with all of the mice cures and I'm just wondering what in a story would really make you sit up and take notice. I guess it is kind of my determination that they we will win against this beast! I do like the fact they are drugs we already use so they can move to clinical trials in humans a little faster.

2. Brenda

Brenda Junior Member

Mice have been cured many times in the past. I won't hold my breath, but I do know Jeffrey Bluestone has a vested interest in finding the cure--has family members with type 1.

3. Sarah Maddie's Mom

Sarah Maddie's Mom Approved members

If after a bit more than a year you are getting "bored" by stories about research into possible cures for Type 1 then perhaps you should just ignore them.:rolleyes:

4. TheFormerLantusFiend

TheFormerLantusFiend Approved members

I think that mice whose diabetes was created by researchers are entirely different from humans whose diabetes wasn't.

I get a little excited about the treatment options that don't depend on reversing the diabete pathway created about researchers- I am interested in the islet transplant and bone marrow transplant stuff and I had hopes for smartsulin. But stuff that reverses type 1 diabetes in mice doesn't interest me because it depends on the diabetes being caused in a specific way that mine wasn't.