- advertisement -

We need your prayers.......

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by momof3princesses, Dec 24, 2008.

1. momof3princesses

momof3princesses Approved members

We need your prayers.......UPDATE pg.5

We just returned from a fun-filled holiday trip to Chicago and our oldest daughter has been drinking everything in sight today. I checked her finger and she was 289 - rechecked, 389, rechecked-394, I called the Endo and he said she should come to the ER today. Her blood ketones were negative (0.0) so we are holding off until we can open presents. Santa is going to come tonight, we told the kids. Today is also her 14th birthday. I'm so bummed and scared out of my mind right now. Just needed to vent.......

Last edited: Dec 25, 2008
  2. Wendyb

Wendyb Approved members

Oh Cristy---I'm no expert but this is not good news. If it is d---good for catching it before ketones. Why is it that this happens during the holidays? Keep us up to date. I am thinking of you and your family.

3. LJM

LJM Approved members

I am so sorry your family is facing this on Christmas (or any day for that matter). I will say prayers for you all.

4. emm142

emm142 Approved members

Praying for you, and hoping everything works out. *hugs* I have so much respect for the parents who help make things easier for their kids with D, and I'll be thinking of your family today.

5. buggle

buggle Approved members

I'm so, so sorry. Life can be so unfair. It sounds like you're doing a wonderful job keeping her b-day and Christmas special for her.

6. GaPeach

GaPeach Approved members

Praying in Georgia.

7. Abby-Dabby-Doo

Abby-Dabby-Doo Approved members

I'm sorry, I know this will weigh heavily on your mind. :(
    If I were in your shoes, I'd be doing the same thing. You know the warning signs, keep up with the ketone testing, keep her hydrated, and my heart goes out to you- hoping for a fluke. Prayers coming your way! :cwds:

8. Mimi

Mimi Approved members