advertisement

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

We are all different...but that's ok

Discussion in 'Parents Off Topic' started by StillMamamia, Sep 3, 2008.

  1. StillMamamia

    StillMamamia Approved members

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    13,195
    Just trying to gather those who may feel like they don't belong here. Please don't feel offended. I just would like to get those occasional posters, lurkers, and people who hesitate in posting to just introduce themselves a bit or write something about themselves.

    Often, we forget that there are real stories behind the people posting, and that there are feelings too. So, let's just get to know each other, if you'd like.
    I'll start to give you some incentive.

    I'm Paula.
    I post a lot.
    I miss my parents. They live in the US.
    I'm quite shy in person, but not when I write ;)
    I underestimate myself often.
    I miss working.
    I love Calvin & Hobbes.
    I have a big heart and big hips (Talula, watch out...I'm working on the Hula:D)
    I know tons of useless facts, but suck at math.


    Your turn...
     
  2. OSUMom

    OSUMom Approved members

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    5,324
    I have insecurities about posting too.
    Son diagnosed at 18.
    So my "child" is an adult at college. :eek:
    I still need support.
    I work part-time for a math textbook editorial company, but I'm a support office person not a math expert. :)
    I need some hobbies.
    I'm a good listener - so I'm told. ;)

    Thanks Paula. :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2008
  3. Treysmom

    Treysmom Approved members

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,141
    I'm Robin
    I can be very shy, even while posting. :eek:
    I work for a optometrist, my official job is filing insurance for her but I really do almost everything.
    I am originally from the New Orleans area but now live semi rural.
    I have three lovely children that make me happy everyday.
    I love Cats
    I am a great listener and a loyal friend
     
  4. cilipu

    cilipu Approved members

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    ok, here we go...

    I'm Claudia
    I don't post very often (matter of time)
    I'm working part time as a process analyst within an IT company
    I love my hobbies music, reading and swimming (I would like to spend more time on my hobbies :) )
    I love eating (do it far toooooo much)
    I love Maxine but sometimes she drives me crazy
    I'm not a very patient person but I'm a good listener and a loyal friend
     
  5. Java

    Java Approved members

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    661
    I am 38 years old
    been married 17 LONG:D years
    3 wonder boys
    Johnathon 9 dx 8/08
    Daniel 12 special needs and bipolar
    Jacob 15 bipolar
    I am a Realtor
    I also work at a middle school with special needs children
    I love this board it is God sent
     
  6. KelliTwins

    KelliTwins Approved members

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    472
    My name is Kelli.
    I am 29.
    I'm a special education teacher.
    I work with students with emotional and behavioral disorders.
    I have 4 year old twins, Hailey and Greg.
    Hailey was born at 2 lb. 13 oz.
    Greg was born at 3 lb. 13 oz.
    Greg was diagnosed with diabetes on 11/2/07.
    I love to read and write.
    I try not to be too anxious, but always am.
    I'm tired...a lot!:eek:
    Being a mother has been one of the most challenging, but also most rewarding, experiences I've ever had. :D
     
  7. MyAngelEmma

    MyAngelEmma Approved members

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    980
    I am Melissa.
    Quickly approaching 40. (Can that really be true?!!!):eek:
    Grew up in western NY but now live in the Deep South.
    Hate coffee….love chocolate!
    My hobby is photography.
    I am Mom to my two awesome kids and crazy in love with my husband!
    I sell children’s boutique clothing but am taking a break from that right now to focus on my daughter.
    I am mainly here for a sense of community and support.
    I always seem to have to edit my posts because I am a terrible speller!
     
  8. fredntan2

    fredntan2 Approved members

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,930
    I'm Fran
    I'm a nurse-work in radiology dept were I sedate patients among other things
    never a dull moment there.
    I work part time-2 days week.
    Have 2 girls teenagers
    Megan just got her learners permit.
    she's a recovering bulimic
    Sara's 12 now. I think she's doing good with the D.
    A1c's aren't so good. working on it though.
    she's doing everything she's supposed to do.
    I don't really have hobbies, besides working, being taxi, cooking cleaning. walking dog.
     
  9. Tigerlilly's mom

    Tigerlilly's mom Approved members

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,492
    My name is Jen
    I am older than I feel
    I am the proud mom of 2 great kids (well 1 really great kid and a toddler which equals out to 2 great kids)
    I am Tylers biggest fan on and off the field or rink
    I work part-time for my husbands business (no set hours and no pay)
    I post on CWD often, I don't have much to offer on "medical" advice but try to be supportive in otherways
    I am NOT shy, and will/can strike up a conversation with just about anyone
    I consider myself a good friend
    I LOVE to read
    I am ALWAYS on time for everything (ok early for everything)
    I love to bake, but hate to cook (too many critics in the house)
    I have a sarcastic sense of humor
    Before becoming a stay home mom, I worked in the Human Resouces field and LOVED it!
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2008
  10. realsweety

    realsweety Approved members

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    228
    I am Rhonda,I just turned 37 and just celebrated our 8 yr wedding anniversary.I wish I new how to do the up and down lists you guys do.I don't post much becouse I get intimidated very easily.I have low self esteem by nature,so my feelings get hurt very easily.I love reading romance novels (my husband hates it ) . I am a stay at home mom looking for parttime employment which is difficult when you have nobody to babysit.
     
  11. Sarah Maddie's Mom

    Sarah Maddie's Mom Approved members

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    12,510
    Easy
    Just
    Keep
    Hitting
    the
    Return
    Key
    at
    the
    end
    of
    each
    line
    ;)
     
  12. hold48398

    hold48398 Approved members

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    4,293
    Hi, I'm Marisa
    born and raised in Switzerland, now living in the US
    I briefly lived in England, as well
    I have traveled to many places in Europe
    I love people and animals
    sometimes animals more than people :rolleyes:
    I am a SAHM and Chief Household Officer
    to two beautiful girls:
    Mia, my angel, and
    Ciana, my rebel ;)
    I love coffee, cards and conversations
    :)
     
  13. Rusty

    Rusty Approved members

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    289
    My name is Rusty
    I am a single Father
    I love my son London
    London is my only child
    Sometimes i feel clueless
    Will i pass or will i fail ?
    I take it one day at a time
    I will fight this D with everything i can
     
  14. ecs1516

    ecs1516 Approved members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    7,025
    Hi,
    I'm Carol
    Before becoming a stay at home mom, I used to be a programmer at IBM.
    Sometimes I miss going to work. But, my new job is keeping track of numbers of two diabetic kids keeps me busy! Feel like I don't have enough time to do everything even though I stay at home. Before we had kids, we traveled all over. Colorado, Canada, Maui. Loved Switzerland!, Germany , Austria too. Love to go back someday.
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2008
  15. frizzyrazzy

    frizzyrazzy Approved members

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    14,141
    remove personal info
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2010
  16. twodoor2

    twodoor2 Approved members

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,440
    • I'm Marsha
    • I post A LOT so I don't know if I qualify to be in this thread
    • However, I love math
    • So everyone thinks I'm a freak
    • That's okay
    • I don't mind being the forum freak:D (or should I:confused:)
    • I currently work out of the house as a programmer
     
  17. Thoover

    Thoover Approved members

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,447
    I'm Tracy
    I am 35 years old
    I hate math I use a calculator at all time.:D
    I am an Office Manager for an Insurance Company for 10 years
    I have been married to a wonderful hubby for 14 years
    Two beautiful but spoiled children Brittney dxd 1-19-07 age 10 and Nickolas "Bubby" age 5 non D.
    I am addicted to CWD because of ALL THE GREAT people here, and great advice I get.
    Oh yeah and I hate A1C day.. :eek:
     
  18. wilowndmomof3

    wilowndmomof3 Approved members

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    317
    I'm Trudy
    Born and raised in WV, and no my mom and dad were not brother and sister or cousins :p
    I just turned 38
    I have been happily married to my awesome hubby for 17 yrs
    I have three amazing kids
    I am a stay at home, homeschool mom
    I am a medical transcriptionist for the past 6 yrs
    I can be shy, but once I get to know you watch out
    I am a worrier, but with a klutz for a hubby I am not as bad these days
    We live on the family farm and love animals.
    Hobbies are crocheting, sewing, crafting, and just hanging with the kids
    I don't post a lot, had bad experiences on forums so it takes me a while to test the waters
     
  19. andeefig

    andeefig Approved members

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,616
    * Real name is Andrea
    * Married to my best friend for almost 8 years
    he proposed after knowing me for 6 months (crazy man)
    * SAHM to one and only DS
    * would give left arm for more kids
    * love anything to do with design and art
    * despise math, envious of those who get numbers
    * post fairly frequently, sometimes feel misunderstood based on inability to get my point across the way I mean it when I type. :eek: wish we could speak to each other instead of write
    * work for our hospital "on call" meeting newy dx families
    * want to downsize our house to buy 2nd home on the ocean
    * people pleaser
     
  20. saxmaniac

    saxmaniac Approved members

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    4,057
    I'm Scott.
    I'm also a computer programmer by trade, so I'm online all the time.
    I'm in the CWD chat room a lot. Talking things out helps me very much.
    I sure hate diabetes, but I love to keep my kid alive. So I never tire of learning.
    I play saxophone in a 20-piece band, quite a lot these days.
    I do a lot of the musical scoring for our band's tunes. Sometimes I think I like sitting at the piano with score paper more than playing.
    I have a BM in music theory & composition, a BA in computer science, and an MS in computer science.
    I post a lot and and am talkative online, but am not really that way in person.
    I have a bad habit of making jokes at my own expense.
    I'm a staunch political independent, and detest polarization more than anything. I really wish people would get along and stop treating politics like a football game.
    I've been playing way too much Guitar Hero lately.
     

Share This Page

advertisement