- advertisement -

Unexplained highs...

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by smdurrell, Jul 19, 2010.

1. smdurrell

smdurrell Approved members

Hi all. My DD is 15 and was diagnosed almost 3 years ago. We have had all the fun.. the honeymoon, the hormonal jumps etc.. for about a week now.. she has been having unexplained highs... they come out of the blue and we can't figure them out. For instance, this evening at 8 o'clock, she was 88. That's good. She had no snack.. nothing. Two hours later, I had her check it again before bed.. just to see. She was 232. WHAT????
    I don't get it... has anyone else had this happen?

Thanks..

Stacey:confused:

2. CamsMom

CamsMom Approved members

I am rather new to this... but I am finding the fatty food delay to really hamper our evening BGs. What was for dinner?

We had pizza tonight and I just put him to bed at a nice 118... I would bet he will be high at 12am when I test again.

3. courtneysmom

courtneysmom Approved members

After about 2.5 yrs dealing with d that happens to us often. I have stopped looking for answers cause it changes on a daily basis. I can feed Courtney the same thing eveyday with the same activity and bg will be different. It would be nice if there was some kinda pattern we could actually use.

4. PatriciaMidwest

PatriciaMidwest Approved members

Hi Stacey --

I do see those same things (my daughter is 13), at the same time of night. I chalk it up to either 1)hormones or 2) a fat spike from dinner, but it could just be the randomness of T1. Since you've had them for a week, I would guess its hormone related (but I'm certainly no md).

If you are pumping a temp basal or a new pattern can help with this.

Last edited: Jul 21, 2010
  5. Brenda

Brenda Junior Member

There are several plausible explanations, but everyone is different and there may be NO explanation.