- advertisement -

Uncontrollable Tantrums

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by m7vjewell, Sep 2, 2011.

1. m7vjewell

m7vjewell New Member

Hi there. I am new to this blog and my head has been spinning this last year! My daughter, now 3, was diagnosed almost a year ago w/ TID. Prior to diabetes, my child was the happiest child ever! I took her everywhere with me: travel, restaurants, movies, etc. She was so well behaved. She also was a great sleeper (bedtime) and is extremely intelligent. When she started to get sick, her behavior started to get out of control. She was having hallucinations (we think) at bed time, waking up multiple times in the night, and all of the other symptoms that go along with T1D before it is caught.

Well, after she was diagnosed, and we started her on insulin, her behaviors continued. Our discipline became less consistent. It was too hard for me to discipline a 2 year old with a BG of 400! or 40! if she was misbehaving. Well, her BG are controlled fairly well (considering that she's 3), but her behaviors continue. Especially at bedtime. I dread bedtime every night. She screams and cries and only wants to sleep with me. I don't know how to stop this behavior. My daughter has been very clingy to me lately and will only let me take care of her diabetes (not dad). My daughter and I have not slept well in a year and need a fix!

Are there any parents out there whose child was diagnosed at a young age and struggled with bedtime after diagnosis? Please help!

Thanks,

One very tired mom,
    wife of Mark
    mom of Norah 3, dx 10/13/10, pumping
    mom of Maggie, 1

2. Lisa P.

Lisa P. Approved members

I can't talk re: bedtime -- I still lie down with Selah.