- advertisement -

Toddler with sugar in Urine

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by jhferry, Sep 12, 2006.

1. jhferry

jhferry Approved members

Hi,

I need a little info here. I have a 20 mo old toddler who just had a
    urine test for sugar. He drinks alot of bottles at night even though
    they are mostly water. (2oz milk to 6oz water) Anyway, he is very high
    energy and a very happy kid. The doctor told us its a 50% chance of
    diabetes but I dont know anything about this. He does tend to eat late
    and does get the bottle at night. He had the urine test when he was
    asleep as well after a bottle.

Can anyone tell me what can cause this? We of course are freaking out.

2. georgia

georgia Approved members

I am not a doctor or nurse, but I think spilling sugar into your urine is a sign of diabetes. Is your doctor running more tests? sending you to a pediatric endocrinologist?
    My 3 year old daughter has diabetes and I have been worried about her twin brother. The doctors told me I can check he blood sugar or check his urine for sugar. They told me he should never spill sugar into his urine.
    I'd get your son to an endocrinologist. If he has sugar in his urine the insulin isn't moving the sugar to his cells like it should.
    I hope your son doesn't have diabetes. But you need to know.
    Goodluck

3. selketine

selketine Approved members

I"m unclear about some things.

Did your child actually see the doctor? Did the doctor do a finger stick test to see what his blood glucose level is?

When William was diagnosed they tested his urine first IN the office and it came back positive for sugar in the urine so then they IMMEDIATELY tested his finger and he was 400+ and they sent us on to the hospital.