- advertisement -

To help where I can (T1, dx'd 1995 @ age 19)

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Tau1061, Aug 14, 2008.

1. Tau1061

Tau1061 Approved members

Wanted to say hello & intro...

I'm a T1, dx'd Oct of '95 while I was a soph in college. I was on MDI until 05 when I switched to a pump. I work as a natural resource manager for NCSU in Raleigh, NC while also a p-time grad student.

I was into all kinds of athletics growing up and after diagnosis my initial med team wasn't enthusiastic about it. :confused: Didn't take me long to realize I needed to switch. There are really good teams in this area @ both UNC & Duke Med Centers and I found a home with the bunch from UNC. They have been very helpful and supportive from day one. ;)

My athletic interests in college switched from regular participation in "traditional" sports like soccer, lacrosse, football, wrestling, etc. Instead, I took up climbing, mtn biking, backpacking, skiing, and mountaineering. I had some good instructors early on that understood my interests and my early physical needs & potential hurdles... and gave me the opportunity to begin learning how to manage in wilderness conditions. I've spent lots of time in freezing temps, snow, wind, heat, and rain stomping around forests, swamps, deserts, and high in the mtns up to 17K feet. I have been a part of the IDEA2000 group and now have the priviledge of being a member of a diabetic mountain biking team... aside from my ice climbing adventures :eek: (yea, I know)...

I may have already met a few of you, as I've been part of Sports Central @ FfL in Orlando the last two years with the high profile athletes. I don't consider myself a high profile athlete, I just do what I do. My main reasons for becoming involved were to help show kids that they can do whatever they choose with the right knowledge and preparations.