- advertisement -

Thyroid Inflamination and AC1/A1C

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by diabeticgirl101, May 17, 2006.

1. diabeticgirl101

diabeticgirl101 Approved members

Hi I have thyroid inflamination and don't know anything about it. The doctor didn't tell me what it meant- just that I needed bloodwork. :eek: Can somebody who has/had it tell me about it and if you feel pain? Also where is your thyroid? any info would help

also my AC1 (or is it) A1C is 9.4 %. Any ideas of how to get it down? Do you just eat right and not have highs too often? My orignal A1C/AC1 in the hosptial when I got it was 11%!! then I had a 7.2 % and now 9.4%.

2. EmmasMom

EmmasMom Approved members

Hi Lauren,
    Your thyroid is located in the front of your neck, just a few inches below your chin. If you lean your head back and swallow you may be able to feel it. I'm no thyroid expert, but I do know that your thyroid can grow if it's having a hard time producing the right amount TSH. They will probably do blood tests to confirm what your TSH levels are. Several members of my family have thyroid problems they all manage it with oral medication.

I'm sorry to hear that your A1C has gone up. Did your endo give you any advice on bringing it back down? Are you on a pump or injections? There are a lot of things that can help, but it mostly depends on your insulin dosing. A healthy diet and exercise is always good, but if your not taking enough insulin neither will fix the problem. You should ask your doctors office about meeting with a diabetes educator that can help you out.

Good Luck!:)

3. cydnimom

cydnimom Approved members

Lauren,