- advertisement -

Testing/injections in Public

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by tina, Jun 27, 2011.

1. tina

tina Approved members

My son was diagnosed last week and is only four so I am very new to the topic. He takes all of the pokes and "mesquito bites" very well and is quite stoic. He gets tested before each meal and then gets an injection afterwards. So far I have done both a few times at a sandwich shop or McDonalds and I didnt think much of it, as I waited tables for many years, and would often see people with diabetes give themselves injections with their meals. I suppose I assumed that people understood the importance.

However, a few nights back I was out with my son with my boyfriend and my boyfriend became very upset and said that it should be done in the car, not in a public place. He mentioned it was like personal hygiene and I should consider the impact it may have upon others and give him his injection in private. I was more than a little offended, to be honest.

Is there a social consensus on this topic or advice you guys might offer? I was genuinely surprised to find out that people might have such a strong opinion on this topic.

2. Flutterby

Flutterby Approved members

We test and treat wherever and whenever.. I've done it in food courts, at the table, in school.. anywhere.. she's not on injections anymore, so its easier with a pump.. but with injections we did it where ever we were when she needed an injection or to be tested.. I was always very careful to bring all the trash with me and not leave it behind, but there is no reason he can't test and treat inside McD's, the food court or at the playground.:cwds:

3. Jakethesnakesmom

Jakethesnakesmom Approved members