- advertisement -

Sure signs I'm a newbie...

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by Debdebdebby13, Dec 28, 2011.

1. Debdebdebby13

Debdebdebby13 Approved members

That I post a question like, every day :p

What was your child's a1c at diagnosis?

Did they end up in the hospital at diagnosis?

I think we must have caught it pretty early, Molly's a1c was 9.4. She was not hospitalized, her blood sugar was 317 at her pediatrician's office that morning and she was spilling glucose in her urine, but no mention of ketones. We went to the pediatric endo that afternoon and got our basic education and off we went.

As time goes by and I process our experience I can't help but wonder if our experience was "normal" or if we got off pretty easy.

2. Lisa - Aidan's mom

Lisa - Aidan's mom Approved members

Initial A1C was 9.8 and he was in the hospital for 4 days with high ketones. I can't remember the exact BG #, but it was in the high 500's. Not that I wanted him to be in the hospital, but it took some time for the proper training, so in the long run I'm glad I was there getting training - I think I would have been on information overload if it was just one afternoon!

Good luck!

3. Debdebdebby13

It was a lot of info, I'll give you that!

We have been doing it in increments though. At the first visit, 2 hours, the doc went over the why and the how and taught us about insulin, counting carbs, and how to administer it. he sent us home with all of his phone numbers so we could always call if we had any questions.

Then a week later we went back and we learned about high blood sugarsymptoms and low blood sugar symptoms and how to treat each one.

Now we have another appointment on Jan. 11 to meet with the nutritionist. So it's been spread out.

4. Sarah Maddie's Mom

Sarah Maddie's Mom Approved members

Wait .... they had you wait a week, a week ON insulin to learn the signs and treatments for hypoglycemia? :confused:

May I ask where you are located?