- advertisement -

Severe Hypo and turning Blue

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by SarahsMum, May 10, 2009.

1. SarahsMum

SarahsMum Approved members

Ok so as you know Im new to this whole wife world of Diabetes but something happened last night that has never happened before.

We went away for the weekend. DH was already there and I drove down later in the day, the drive was 1.5 hours.

I checked Sarah's BSL before we left and she was 8.8, upon arriving she was acting hypo (she becomes very unsettled and then either sucks her dummy for dear life, or sucks the feed down very quickly) so I checked her BSL and it was LO. As per our protocol I gave 3mls of sucrose and her feed. 15 mins later she was 1.1, so I gave another 3 mls sucrose and waited 30 mins - she had then dropped again to LO, so another 3mls sucrose and 30 mins later LO.

I gave up at this point as I looked at her and her lips had gone blue:(. I got the glucagon out and as per the instructions from her endo I have her 1/2 ml, she is on a pump so injected it into her other thing.

Pump had been suspended at the start when I first detected the hypo.

Waited 15 mins after Glucogon and she was still LO, which has never happened, we have used Glucagon twice before and she has always started coming up after 5 mins and after 15 mins is usually back up around 6.

Her chin, cheeks and eyes were now going blue, so drew the other 1/2 ml up and injected it.

Finally she recovered 30 mins after the second Glucagon.

So she was in either LO or 1.1 from 930pm-midnight.

Has anyone experienced their child going blue with a severe hypo and how do you deal with it.

I was on the verge of calling the paramedics but she started to pink up and respond to the glucagon.

Oh she fed then at 3am and was 10.2 and at her 6am feed was LO again, but she responded straight away to the first dose of Sucrose and her feed and no blue episode.

TIA

Kat

2. sam1nat2

sam1nat2 Approved members