- advertisement -

question about gummy candy to treat low

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by Momto3, Oct 5, 2011.

1. Momto3

Momto3 Approved members

A couple weeks ago one of our school nurses asked me not to send in gummy bears because:
    1 - gummy candy is sticky
    2 - gummy bears are too slow acting to treat a low

We have used Swedish Fish candy a lot to treat a low with great success. I told her this and she told me to put gummy candy in water and see what happens. If it doesn't break down it's not fast acting. I didn't argue, I just told her if she'd prefer juice we'd send in juice instead.

I've never heard of this, but I'm still learning each day. I swear I've heard gummies, hard candies, pixie stix, etc... are all fine, just not chocolate candy because of the fat.

Any thoughts?

2. Butterfly Betty

Butterfly Betty Approved members

We've used them, too, and they worked quickly. I don't know. Interested in seeing what others have to say.

3. courtneysmom608

courtneysmom608 Approved members

Courtney uses fruit snacks almost every time with huge success and thats pretty gummy. She got so sick of juice boxes and these work very well for her and they work quickly.

4. MamaBear

MamaBear Approved members

Any sugary candy can be sticky :rolleyes:. If you want to send something else, jellybeans work pretty well.

5. Kayeecee

Kayeecee Approved members

Her challenge to see if it breaks down in water is only valid if you're treating someone on a feeding tube. Ever hear of teeth?

6. hawkeyegirl

hawkeyegirl Approved members

I think they work fast enough, but personally, I avoid them because of possible dental issues. I'm not saying that my kids NEVER get gummies, but I prefer hard candy or tabs to treat lows for that reason.

7. Traci

Traci Approved members

We've used fruit snacks almost exclusively for 8 years without issue.

8. tonnia

tonnia Approved members