- advertisement -

Pump Transition - at home or in hospital?

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by CandiceMcG, Feb 4, 2010.

1. CandiceMcG

CandiceMcG Approved members

Just wondering where you "celebrated" your first 24 hours on your pumps. Our doctor recommends a hospital stay for monitoring purposes. But in your experience, is that necessary? I ask because we're having trouble scheduling our admission date (plus we've been waiting 3 years for this!), and I'm wondering if we can handle it at home.

My husband is on the same pump (Ping), having transitioned last year. And as a former statistics professional, I'm pretty good with numbers. What do you think?

2. Toni

Toni Banned

I think most go to their endos for pump start for the day and go home at night like we did. Endo in town offers a three-day pump school overnight in hospital (he waits until he has three sets of families). They are trained for all contingencies. Think that may be overkill, but it would elimate questions as to do when you have problems.

3. Nancy in VA

Nancy in VA Approved members

We had training with the pump trainer about a week before pump start, and did a saline trial. then we went into the office and met with the CDE for 3 hours and we were ready to go. I can't imagine a need for a hospital stay.

4. frizzyrazzy

frizzyrazzy Approved members

We did it at home/dr's office. :)

We had to stay at the dr's office for about a half a day, but it's in a major hospital, so there were plenty of places for us to go...Our day went like this:
    8am or so, hook up. free to go

10am back to the clinic for bg check etc
    snack on our own
    12pm back to the clinic for another bg check
    lunch
    2pm back to the clinic - free to leave.