- advertisement -

Prejudice in Sports.......

Discussion in 'Sports and Athletics' started by mom to a sports nut, Jul 13, 2007.

1. mom to a sports nut

mom to a sports nut Approved members

Have you or your child faced 'discrimination' in your competitive sports field due to type 1 diabetes? I would be interested to hear how you handled it.

2. 3js

3js Approved members

has your daughter experienced this? we are not involved in organized sports for a few years- pre dx.

my son starts martial arts again in the fall. i am interested if this is an issue for kids.

3. otisdaddy

otisdaddy New Member

I have

I was a former professional hockey player and the fact that I was a diabetic was a negative factor in many scouts eyes. From their standpoint, if you have a a "non-diabetic" player comparable in skill level to a diabetic player, they will choose the non-diabetic player every time. It is less of a risk to them. I even had Bobby Clarke, one of the best known diabetic athletes, tell me this. What I had to do was work hard to keep my diabetes in order and use this "discrimination" as a motivating factor on an every day basis.

4. Tamara Gamble

Tamara Gamble Approved members