- advertisement -

pizza is the devil

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by steph, Jul 9, 2012.

1. steph

steph Approved members

I am new to T1D, DD is just turned 2yo and we are 7mos into Dx. I assure you that she normally eats a very healthy diet full of veggies and fiber, however, there have been a few times recently that she has had pizza. The first time, I thought maybe the high bg was a fluke and I didn't count the carbs correctly. The second time (at a birthday party) i figured it was pizza, and that is when I researched and found out about fat spikes. At her last endo appt I asked about fat spikes, and the CDE said to give her a little more insulin for fatty meals. So when my picky eating father and 3 other fmily members showed up unexpectedly and then suggested pizza for dinner, I thought I could try out our new fatty meal ICR. But even giving her insulin at 1/35 instead of her usual 1/40, she spiked to over 400 3hrs later and needed a correction, and then stayed high into the next morning. Plus she woke up and wouldn't go back to sleep bc she felt crappy I presume. Is there any way to avoid these spikes ather than to just avoid junk foods all together? (which I am not opposed to) If we do run into a situation where I don't want to deprive her of a fatty treat, like a birthday party, how should I bolus on MDI?

2. Christopher

Christopher Approved members