advertisement

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Night time numbers question.

Discussion in 'Teens' started by Artgirl, Nov 19, 2015.

1. Artgirl

Artgirl Approved members

I was told that my daughter should be at 6 before bed and if she is not then I need to give her more carbs and snack to make sure that she doesn't have an overnight low, this terrifies me to death. Last night she was at 5.9 and even though she ate the extra snacks I was very scared all night. Can they feel a low happening? will they wake up? How can I make sure that this won't happen, I am new at this and overnight scares me and I don't want to stay up all night worrying about this either.

2. Christopher

Christopher Approved members

In my opinion, the best way to calm your fears about her overnight numbers is to check her several times during the night. Check her once at bedtime and if she is not at the number you want her to be at either, give her carbs to bring her up or insulin to bring her down. Then check her a few hours later. Depending on her number then, you may need to treat in a similar fashion. And you may need to check her again a few hours after that.

Each child is different, so you will have to see if your child will wake up from a low. I know my daughter usually does not wake up when she is low. Sometimes she does, but I am not going to take that chance.

I would also recommend creating a signature so people can see what kind of insulin she is using, if she in on a pump or MDI, if she is using a CGM, etc.

Good luck

3. rgcainmd

rgcainmd Approved members