- advertisement -

Newly diagnosed---worried

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by KHM, Mar 24, 2010.

1. KHM

KHM Approved members

Hi---newbie here! I'm hoping for some insight from parents of kids who had *really* difficult transitions since diagnosis.

My daughter was diagnosed a bit over a month ago. In the ensuing month, despite having counted carbs diligently, recorded everything, read everything ever printed about Diabetes Type 1 in kids, DD continues to have blood glucose levels above her target range about 80% of the time. Her blood glucose levels have been over 350 for four or five hours in a day, some times more than one long period per day... to be short: she is hardly ever in her target range and when she is over she is WAY over the maximum of her target range.

She is so high so often, in fact, that she has been unable to go back to school (first grade)---her school health management plan would land her in the health room for most of every day.

Her endocrinologist will not consider any possibility other than our inability to count carbs or my daughter eating on the sly... I find neither of those possibilities even close to adequate to explain the consistency of her high BGs. Needless to say, we've decided to take up with another endo but as she is not ill, we have a long wait---until the end of April.

The idea of waiting so long to get her numbers down is really unsettling to me. I would like to know:
    1. have any parents had similar experiences with stabilizing BGs toward more acceptable levels when first diagnosed?
    2. What should I do? I am seriously considering taking her to an ER the next time her BG is over 350 for more than an hour.

We're on Novolog and Levemir; the endo has made one adjustment to the Levemir since initial assessment and that was an increase when her BGs were VERY very extremely high.

Help?

2. Sandy's mom

Sandy's mom Approved members