- advertisement -

Newbie here

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Heather-Nate's Mom, Sep 6, 2010.

1. Heather-Nate's Mom

Heather-Nate's Mom Approved members

Hi everyone! My name is Heather and have recently joined here to hopefully learn things I don't know and be able to chat with others who know the constant worries of being a parent to a diabetic child. From staying up to check their sugar in the middle of the night if they've been running high or low or ate something too late before bed and your not sure how it will affect their sugar. Worrying about them when they go to a friends house or on field trips.
    A little background: My brother was dx"d at age 12, had poor control and very difficult to manage diabetes and passed away almost 6 years ago at age 29 due to Atherosclerosis caused by poor blood sugar management. He had all too frequent seizures from extremely low blood sugar that all of us in the family have been in the position to try and get him out of at one time or another. So needless to say we had a very bad experience with diabetes.