- advertisement -

New adventure

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Austins mom, Jan 4, 2013.

1. Austins mom

Austins mom Approved members

My son Austin is six years old and was just diagnosed three weeks ago with type 1 diabetes... What a life change. Hes been doing five shots a day and is really scared. His dr suggested a pump right away soooo... We are starting him on an Animus pump this Sunday. Im really nervous. Any tips on how to make this go smoother?:confused:

2. Brenda

Brenda Junior Member

Just be patient. You may be frustrated a lot the first week of pumping, but work with your endo/CDE and post here when you have specific questions. They usually start with very liberal basal and bolus rates so you may see higher numbers than usual. I really am not sure what advice to give you. I have no experience with pumping so soon after diagnosis. Hope someone else chimes in.

3. Ti'sMom

Ti'sMom Approved members

My DS was just diagnosed in August and started pumping in December. He is very insulin sensitive and so it was definitely needed. You'll find that it is much easier, less painful, and definitely less stressful. I was worried at first as well, but he is much happier with the pump. He started his cgm Thursday and will start the MySentry on the 21st of this month. Tristan's numbers did run higher at first but they are leveling out now. My recommendation would be to just keep reading the threads on here. I've learned so much! Good luck to you both!

4. emc71

emc71 Approved members