- advertisement -

Need help from parents!

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by Cardonea1, Jan 24, 2014.

1. Cardonea1

Cardonea1 New Member

Hello all,

First, I would like to pay my respects to the parents who are caring for children with diabetes. It must be very frightening and stressful, and it takes a special person to be able to do so.

I am hoping to find any interested parents that would be willing to give me feedback. Let me give you some history. I am a product design student and I have decided on a thesis project, of redesigning a blood glucose monitor for children. Testing blood sugar for a child is a scary and painful process, and I am aiming to redesign the experience for kids, and make a product that could take that experience, and change the feelings that kids associate it with.

Right now, I am in the research phase and I am trying to gather as much information as possible, and I thought, there's no better person to ask then the ones who experience it everyday. I am hoping that some of you will be willing to share your experiences with me, and possibly stay in contact or be available to see my design through conception to completion, while giving me helpful feedback that will shape my design.

I have thought of a few concepts, but truly need more information, as I am not a parent caring for a child with diabetes and cannot answer for them. What I am trying to understand now, is what makes the experience of using a blood glucose meter scary and I please t for children? Is it the sight of blood? Or the pain? Or just the association, where the child sees the blood glucose tester, and associates it with a painful experience and shies away from it?