- advertisement -

More Independent but Worse Control

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by earruda, Dec 12, 2006.

1. earruda

earruda Approved members

I am writing because we are having increased difficulty getting my daughter's blood sugar in control. She is 12 and on the pump now for about 1.5 years (diabetes for 2.5). I am a nurse and when I was managing her diabetes we had her A1C around 7. Now she is more independent (changing her sites, making lunch ect) but her 3 month blood sugar average is..... 208!! I am afraid to go to the diabetes center for her apt!! I feel like such a failure that I am not able to stay on top of this. I work 50+ hours a week and with the pump it is very easy to lose track of things. I couldn't even say the word diabetes yesterday without crying. I got her hooked up with Medtronic's on-line diabetes mgt system so hopefully we can download her data weekly and get back on track. I hope 3 months of a 208 blood sugar hasn't done damage to her kidneys..... How do you stay on top of things with the daily diabetes grind and what on earth do you as the teenage years approach????

2. Amy C.

Amy C. Approved members

My son is 12 and recently started using the pump. It seems to me that one of the hardest things to do is transfer control of the diabetes to the teenager and have them be as successful as you were. I say "seems to me" because my son has not picked up on all of what to do quite yet. He is responsible for testing and doing boluses at school and treating lows and highs. He has gone from testing 3 times at school to testing once. He does bolus for all his food, which is helpful. He may look like a young adult, but I have to double-check almost everything he does. He makes giagantic mistakes (like bolusing 19 units when it should have been 4. Thank goodness for eggnog.)