advertisement

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

meter that uses regular Freestyle test strips?

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by dqmomof3, Nov 12, 2011.

  1. dqmomof3

    dqmomof3 Approved members

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,778
    As much as we love the Omnipod, Jayden has started to have some serious skin reactions to the adhesive on the pod, especially during soccer season. The last few pods we've removed have had bloody blisters underneath them...not a good thing! So she's back to using the MM during soccer. I think she's sweating underneath the pod, and that plus the adhesive is causing her to blister. We have problems with all kinds of adhesive, but this one has gotten really bad.

    So...I have a lot of Freestyle test strips. I don't want to change the prescription because I think we'll be back to using the pod in a few weeks. But I don't have a meter that uses the regular Freestyle strips. I have the Freestyle Lite meter that Omnipod sent with the PDM, but I know it needs the Lite strips.

    Is there still a meter out there that uses the regular Freestyle strips? I seem to remember something about the Freestyle Flash, but Walgreen's, at least online, doesn't sell that one anymore. I know we could still use the PDM as just a meter, but I would feel better about putting that away until we're using the whole system again.

    Does anyone know...if I have a script for the Freestyle strips, would they fill it with the Lite strips if I asked?

    Thanks in advance!
     
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2011
  2. KatieSue

    KatieSue Approved members

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    921
    You can't buy a meter that uses the same strips as the omnipod. I sent an email to Abbot saying where do I get one? They said you can't but sent me a free one. I wanted to have one as a backup in case we had a problem.

    I'd send them an email/call and see if they can help you.
     
  3. danismom79

    danismom79 Approved members

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,300
    I think the Freestyle Freedom replaced the Flash.
     
  4. caspi

    caspi Approved members

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,134
  5. Daniel's Mom 1993

    Daniel's Mom 1993 Approved members

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    727
    Daniel uses his PDM for his meter even when taking shots and not wearing the pods. It actually is great because he can still use it carb amounts - just enter the # of carbs like aways but instead of bolusing give that amount with an injection..
     
  6. dqmomof3

    dqmomof3 Approved members

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,778
    Curious, Erica...how do you make the PDM account for IOB when you aren't bolusing with a Pod. I'm hoping we don't have to go back to shots, but if we do...

    Abbott is going to send me a Freedom meter :).
     
  7. jilmarie

    jilmarie Approved members

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    773
    I'm almost positive that I have an old Freestyle Flash if you're interested.
     
  8. Stacey Nagel

    Stacey Nagel Approved members

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    Messages:
    579
    you need a regular freestyle flash meter. I happen to have 2 of them in the closet. email me at mommabagel@gmail.com with your info and I'll send them to you.
     
  9. MissMadisonsMom

    MissMadisonsMom Approved members

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    636
    Just call Abbott and they'll send out a new meter that will work with the Freestyle strips. I tried finding a meter in every drug store in my town without any luck and then called Abbott and they shipped one out very quickly. It's quite small to, which is nice.
     
  10. sisterbeth43

    sisterbeth43 Approved members

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,908
    I have one of those freestyle meters here, but do use it as a backup,esp now since I am out of one touch strips. If I can find another around here, I will send you one. Will also check with my dd to see if she has any of them yet. I know she did at one time, but don't know about currently.
     
  11. Daniel's Mom 1993

    Daniel's Mom 1993 Approved members

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    727
    You don't - we are actually just using it as a meter with the extra perk of using the bolus calculater.
    When you remove a pod the screen will ask if you want to activatge a pod just say no.. then you can test and after you get the number it will ask if you eating ..just enter carbs and it gives you the amount of insulin needed then you are done with the PDM - he rounds up or down and takes injection with a pen, he has been on shots fro several months now due to adhesive trouble and tired of occlusions.
    There will be no records of insulin because there is none.
     

Share This Page

advertisement