- advertisement -

Lost and mentally drained.

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by Saniyah's Mommy, May 11, 2011.

1. Saniyah's Mommy

Saniyah's Mommy Approved members

Hi,
    I just found out last week my 19 month old daughter has diabetes, so i'm new to everything. My husband is deployed and really, I have no one to talk about how to really deal with everything thats taken place. Right now I'm mostly stuggling with my daughter eating after I give her insulin. The doctors told me that I had to give her insulin before she eats and she must eat right after. Well the issue I'm having is....my daughter is 19 months, she doesn't understand why her meals are changing and why she can only eat a certian amount. Not only that, she doesn't eat all 45 grams of carbs. Does anyone have any advice or a clever way of making eating her food fun. My mind is completly drained, so any helpful words will help. Thanks!

2. Sarah Maddie's Mom

Sarah Maddie's Mom Approved members

So sorry you've had to join us. :(

Most parets of young kids bolus after they have eaten. Not perfect in terms of glycemic control, but way better than a shot then a refusal to eat. ;)

3. Darryl

Darryl Approved members

It fine to bolus after the meal. Bolusing before the meal is theoretically a little better, but insulin takes 1-2 hours to work, so a difference of, say 15 minutes, doesn't matter enough to take a risk on excess insulin in a 2-year old. So for now, count the carbs eaten then bolus as soon as the meal is done.

If you are concerned with controlling post-meal BG spikes (which is why they suggested bolusing before a meal), another approach is to avoid high glycemic index foods which cause BG to rise rapidly. These include white bread, foods sweetened with high fructose corn syrup, white potatoes, candy, etc. There are many glycemic index lists online if you search google.

4. Tuff

Tuff Approved members