advertisement

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Kawasaki Disease and Type 1 Diabetes

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by Garrett's Mom, Jan 11, 2012.

  1. Garrett's Mom

    Garrett's Mom Approved members

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Garrett was diagnosed with Kawasaki disease on 12/24 and got two courses of IVIG treatment. So far both echos have been clear. He is still quite insulin resistant. I was interested if anyone else in the forum has dealt with a Kawasaki Disease diagnosis? What was your experience like? Did you have any insulin resistance? How long did it take for insulin needs to go back to normal? Did your child ever return to baseline? Besides low dose aspirin did you use any other medications or supplements following the acute phase? Any insights would be appreciated!

    Best,
    Kara
     
  2. emm142

    emm142 Approved members

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    6,883
  3. TheFormerLantusFiend

    TheFormerLantusFiend Approved members

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,925
    I know very little about Kawasaki's disease but I want to make sure that you know that the IVIG treatments can interfere with some glucose meters and cause them to give falsely elevated results. I was literally reading about deaths caused by reliance on such meters not five minutes ago. The solution with IVIG contains maltose, a sugar that the body can't utilize the way it uses glucose. Some meters (for instance, accu chek meters) can't tell the difference between maltose and glucose and give a high reading but since the body doesn't use the maltose, if your blood sugar is 198 but your blood glucose is 67, correcting that blood sugar can kill you. There have been at least 3 deaths reported for this reason.
    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2845013/
    http://www.mja.com.au/public/issues/180_05_010304/letters_010304_fm-3.html
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2012
  4. emm142

    emm142 Approved members

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    6,883
    I'm pretty sure that the Accu Chek meter does now distinguish. There were little leaflets in the top of the boxes of strips for a while saying that they had been changes so that they could now be used by people who had maltose in their bloodstream for some reason.
     
  5. TheFormerLantusFiend

    TheFormerLantusFiend Approved members

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,925
    Maybe in the UK, but mine still say no, and the accu chek website says: https://www.accu-chek.com/us/peritoneal_alert.html

    According to Baxter's website on glucose meters, the accu chek aviva meters can use two different test strips, one of which will give glucose specific readings and the other that doesn't. Maybe the glucose specific strips are sold in the UK or something.
     
  6. emm142

    emm142 Approved members

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    6,883
    How bizarre - you'd think thay they'd want to have the safest produxt available in the US. But perhaps they're just caught up with the FDA.
     

Share This Page

advertisement