- advertisement -

Just Diagnosed

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Lizzie101, Mar 2, 2010.

1. Lizzie101

Lizzie101 Approved members

I was at the doctor yesterday for excessive thirst and urination. I got a call this morning that my blood sugar was 347 and I had diabetes. They scheduled a followup for next Tuesday and didn't tell me anything else. Is it okay to wait this long? I am a college student and I'm in a small town so there aren't really many other doctors in town and the office hasn't returned my calls.

Last edited: Mar 17, 2010
  2. Becky Stevens mom

Becky Stevens mom Approved members

Hi Lizzie, So you mean that you are not on insulin yet is that correct? How are you feeling? Are you weak? Fatigued? Does your stomach or head hurt? Im not sure I understand why they wouldnt get you started on insulin immediately. They said you had type 1 diabetes or type 2? If it is type 1 they should have sent you to an endo immediately to be put on insulin. If you are feeling unwell you should go to the emergency room for treatment as waiting too long to start insulin could lead to a dangerous condition called diabetic ketoacidosis.

3. Lizzie101

No, I'm not on insulin. They just told me over the phone. She said the doctor had to determine whether it was type 1 or 2 but I am nowhere near overweight. I really don't feel good. I'm tired all the time, nauseous, and really thirsty. There arn't any endocrinologists in town so my appointment next week is just with a family practice doctor.

4. Becky Stevens mom

Lizzie are you in the US? Is there someone who can drive you to an endocronologist? If you do have type 1 diabetes you need to be on insulin. the way the doctor who diagnosed you is acting is completely unprofessional and is risking your health. Are you with your parents or away at school? I think you need to be seem right away if your blood sugar is high and you dont feel well

5. Lizzie101