- advertisement -

Insulin Pumps

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by JohnT, Jan 19, 2013.

1. JohnT

JohnT Approved members

This is my first time using a forum. I live in the Scotland, UK. My daughter started using the pump in October last year. We're still having to do numerous nightly checks & we all are finding this very tiring, especially my daughter being woken up! Can anyone tell us how long this could go on for?

2. Sarah Maddie's Mom

Sarah Maddie's Mom Approved members

If you were led to believe that pumping would reduce or end the night bg checks then I'm afraid you were ill-informed. My DD has been using a pump for 8 years and I still check her at least once a night.

If the closed loop pump ever hits the market then perhaps we'll all sleep better, or if you have a spot on CGM with loud enough alarms that could do the trick as well, but for now, with a pump being nothing more than an insulin delivery method, I consider nightly checks necessary for her health, and my peace of mind.

3. danismom79

danismom79 Approved members

Yeah, what she said. Sorry.

Are you waking your daughter up to check? If so, there's no need. There are numerous lancing devices, maybe try some others that she won't feel as much. Then you can just go in and grab a finger (or toe) and check yourself.

4. nanhsot

nanhsot Approved members

Can you give a little more detail? What is the age of your child, what sort of issues are you having? For very young children and during times of growth and change it's common to have to night check, every night, but "numerous" checks seems a little outside the boundaries. How often do you check and why?

It sounds like maybe you have some basal issues, if you could post some specifics and even report her numbers here I think more useful advice would help.