- advertisement -

Insulin pumps

Discussion in 'UK' started by EmmaD, Mar 2, 2010.

1. EmmaD

EmmaD Approved members

Hi

This is my first time on CWD, so feeling a lilttle nervous at what to put, but here goes.

My son was diagnosed 1 August 2006, age 8. We have been asking for a pump through our PCT for the past 2-3 years but unfortunatley there isn't any funding. We were told in October that they were hopeful for January this year as it would be their 4th year of applying. We heard last week that it has been refused yet again and therefore no pumps are available for at least another year. I feel enough is enough so I am going to see George's consultant next week and I shall be challenging the PCT about this. Does anyone have any info that will help me with my cause or any guidance they can give.

Thank you so much.

2. Alba37

Alba37 Approved members

Hi Emma

Welcome to CWD. Don't feel nervous, we are a friendly bunch, I promise :)

My son was diagnosed in 2006 too. He's just turned 17. We fought for a pump for 2 years and eventually got one this week. :) It's going great.

NICE guidelines say if the consultant feels you meet criteria the PCT must fund the pump (in England) Although some clinics are not doing as good as others at this. If you could come and join us at the UK CWD email list, lots of mum's there will be able to help you, Jackie runs the list. It may be an idea to move to a better (pro-pump) clinic? John at INPUT can help you with support and advice on getting your son a pump in England. I am in Scotland so I don't know all the best clinics in England, but that where John, Jackie and the mum's on the list can help out.

Here's some links:

http://www.input.me.uk/

http://www.childrenwithdiabetesuk.org/

Feel free to ask any questions you have. You'll win your battle for a pump for George.

Aileen

3. emm142

emm142 Approved members