- advertisement -

Insulin Pumps

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by EmmaD, Mar 2, 2010.

1. EmmaD

EmmaD Approved members

Hi

This is my first time on CWD, so feeling a lilttle nervous at what to put, but here goes.

My son was diagnosed 1 August 2006, age 8. We have been asking for a pump through our PCT for the past 2-3 years but unfortunatley there isn't any funding. We were told in October that they were hopeful for January this year as it would be their 4th year of applying. We heard last week that it has been refused yet again and therefore no pumps are available for at least another year. I feel enough is enough so I am going to see George's consultant next week and I shall be challenging the PCT about this. Does anyone have any info that will help me with my cause or any guidance they can give.

Thank you so much.

2. Sarah Maddie's Mom

Sarah Maddie's Mom Approved members

Hi Emma,

Welcome :cwds:

I'm a bit confused by some of the points in your post. What is a PCT? It sounds as though you are dealing with a different health care system. Are you in the US?

3. EmmaD

EmmaD Approved members

Sorry I am in the UK.

4. StillMamamia

StillMamamia Approved members

http://www.childrenwithdiabetes.com/uk/

Hi and welcome.:)

I hope someone from the UK chimes in.
    Meanwhile, above is a link for the UK CWD families.:cwds: Maybe join their mailing list to get updated info.
    There's an UK forum here, but I don't think it gets much traffic...

Hope you get answers soon.

5. Becky Stevens mom

Becky Stevens mom Approved members

Hello and welcome:) Glad you joined us. There is a section down below for UK residents Im hoping if you posted this question there that others from the UK would have some helpful advice. Do you have Facebook? I know several people on Facebook that are from the UK. I could try to get you contact info for them if you like

6. StillMamamia

StillMamamia Approved members