- advertisement -

If you are a Podder, do you have an extra PDM for backup?

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by dqmomof3, May 15, 2011.

  1. dqmomof3

    dqmomof3 Approved members

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,778
    I can't help but wonder if at some point Jayden isn't going to lose this PDM. If you are an Omnipod user, did you go ahead and purchase an extra PDM to keep as backup? If so, how much did it cost?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Darryl

    Darryl Approved members

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    4,313
    We do. When we bought it, a backup was $300. Just keep in mind, if a PDM fails then the pod will continue on its basal program until the pod expires, but the pod can not be accessed during this time for boluses or program changes. So unless you carry spare pods, having a spare PDM with you won't be of much help.
     
  3. alismom

    alismom Approved members

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    634
    We have a back-up pdm. $300.
     
  4. Gsmama

    Gsmama Approved members

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    77
    We don't have an extra PDM, but we insure ours under a rider policy for about $7.00 or $8.00 a month in case he does lose it.
    Leslie
     
  5. dqmomof3

    dqmomof3 Approved members

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,778
    Thanks for that piece of info, Darryl. Where do you find are Leah's favorite places to wear the pod? Does she do the backs of her arms?
     
  6. Flutterby

    Flutterby Approved members

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    14,623
    We don't have a back up. I'm hoping its like her meter and she'd never loose it. ;)
     
  7. swellman

    swellman Approved members

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    3,544
    We bought a backup of the previous revision - I think it was $300 then as well. I can't remember if we had to turn in our old PDM to get the new version - so, I might have 2 backups.
     
  8. dqmomof3

    dqmomof3 Approved members

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,778
    I'm going to wait a month or so, I think, to be sure Jayden stays on board with the pod and doesn't want to go back to the MM. Then I'll see about getting another one.
     
  9. JackyH

    JackyH Approved members

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    386
    Omnipod is coming to Canada very soon and I thought I would give it a try. But this is my biggest fear - we have already been through three cell phones since dx and when we were using the CGM on our MM pump prior to our pump start he actually mislaid the pump (left it on a soccer field in the rain). I can't really blame him - he didn't get his talent for losing things from his father - the apple doesn't fall far from the tree as they say:(.
     
  10. Jen_in_NH

    Jen_in_NH Approved members

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    437
    We don't have a backup, but we only live about 2 - 2.5 hours from them anyways. In a worst case scenario, we'll drive down and get one. As Daryl said, the basal keeps going, so we could get by with shots for bolusing until we got to pick one up.
     
  11. manda81

    manda81 Approved members

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    670
    We do not have a backup. We've had one PDM failure, and they overnighted us a new one.

    We've considered getting a back up this summer, still not sure about that yet.

    Replacement/backup PDMs are $500 now, according to our rep.
     
  12. chbarnes

    chbarnes Approved members

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,215
    We have an old style PDM for a backup.
     
  13. KatieSue

    KatieSue Approved members

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    921
    We don't have a backup but she did loose hers once, actually we're not sure if she lost it or it was stolen. Anyway the replacement was $500 and they overnight-ed it. We just did shots till the replacement came. She was out of town on a trip but it worked out fine.

    We're going on a cruise this summer so no way to easily get a replacement if needed. We're just going to bring her back up lantus etc and we'll just switch to shots should she loose it or if it malfunctions.

    It just doesn't seem worth the extra expense for me when we can just switch to shots until we get a replacement.
     
  14. saxmaniac

    saxmaniac Approved members

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    4,057
    We did have a backup PDM, but never really used it. If the in-use PDM died on us (which it has), they usually overnight us a new one before the pod on him even expired.

    The old PDM screen broke this year so we had to toss it.
     
  15. arogers

    arogers Approved members

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    We have an old style PDM we use as the backup. In almost 4 years of "podding" we've never lost the PDM....knock on wood. We did have to use the back up when a weird pod alarm disabled the pod. Had to apply the new pod with the old PDM. I feel much better having it, just in case.

    Arogers
    Mom to 3 boys
    15, 12 (DX 3/07 OmniPod 10/07) and 8
     
  16. caspi

    caspi Approved members

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,134
    We also have the old style PDM as a backup.
     
  17. 3kidlets

    3kidlets Approved members

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    819
    No, we don't have a backup. I just assumed if there was an issue, we would do shots until the new one arrived - which i"m assuming is pretty much overnight (unless it is a weekend?).
     
  18. taximom

    taximom Approved members

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    783
    I think we have 2 old style PDM's for back-up (bought the back-up in the beginning and now have the newer style PDM).

    We have never lost a PDM, but did have a total PDM failure (a few years ago). So it was nice to have the back-up.
     
  19. Lindy

    Lindy Approved members

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    966
    yes - we have the older model pdm - and have had to use it!
     
  20. Ellen

    Ellen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    8,240
    My son is not using the pod, but I would definitely buy one if he did. We have always had a backup pump since he started pumping (Disetronic came with two pumps). After all these years, there no reason for him to go back on long acting insulin even for a day.
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2011

Share This Page

- advertisement -

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice