- advertisement -

How do you?

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by new d dad, Jun 13, 2010.

1. new d dad

new d dad Approved members

Hi i'm new here, my son is 2 & was diagnosed with type1 a few days ago.

How can we help him understand what is going on & why he cannot eat when he wants to & why he always seems to be getting poked.

All he has to do is see us get his test stuff or injector & starts freaking out before we even get close to him with them.

thanks

2. lauraqofu

lauraqofu Approved members

Hi, sorry to hear about the diagnosis. I can't imagine what it's like to have a child diagnosed so young.

I'm new to this, too as my dd was diagnosed about two months ago, so I can't offer much in the way of advice, except to say that your son can eat whatever he wants, he just has to have insulin to cover it...unless your endo has you on a special diet for the time being, but otherwise, there's no reason why he has to be deprived of treats.

I'm sure more experienced parents, and those with younger T1 kids, will chime in and give you great advice. I've gotten excellent support and advice here...

3. StillMamamia

StillMamamia Approved members

Hi and welcome.

I am sorry for the dx.:(

The best thing you can do right now is to explain in 2yr old language that his belly has a huge ouchie and that the injections help his ouchie feel better.:(

I also think if we try to consciously calm ourselves down and not try to make a big deal of testing (or injection) time, our kids will also calm a little bit. Anything which works, goes, in my opinion. Be it do it fast, watching cartoons, talking about nonsense while injecting, bribing (not my favorite, but hey, whatever works with little ones), having a stuffed animal who "suffers" from the same and also gets fake injections, etc, etc.

May I ask why he can't eat certain things? Is this what the endo recommended? Is your insulin regimen very strict? What insulins are you using?