- advertisement -

HELP! questions on childcare

Discussion in 'School and Daycare' started by zanl11, Apr 21, 2008.

1. zanl11

zanl11 New Member

hello all! i am a brand new member here. just to give you a little background my name is amber and i have a 6 year old daughter with type one diabetes. my daughter was diagnosed at age 2, so we have been living as healthy as possible for the last 4 years. i am a new graduate with a bsn in nursing and about to start my first full time job away from my daughter. i have alot of family support and because of limited school resources in my area, we have been home-schooling my daughter. i am very careful about who i leave her with and am terrified to leave her in the care of someone i dont know because of all the horrifying scenarios that run through my mind. my husband has been offered a better job in the sumter,sc area (we currently live in east tennessee) and i am very concerned about childcare for my daughter. i would like to continue to homeschool her but need to be able to work 2-3 days a week (my husband will be able to provide schooling and care one day a week. but that leaves a need for a caregiver 1-2 days a week). i shutter at the thought of putting her in day care. i was wondering, if i am unable to find private care for her, what kinds of things should i look for in a facility? are there facilities that specialize in care for diabetics or have some kind of special certifications i can look for indicating experience in caring for a child with medical needs? i have no idea where to even start......any ideas or thoughts will be appreciated.

2. Sam's mom

Sam's mom Approved members