- advertisement -

Have your children tried renting textbooks?

Discussion in 'Parents of College Kids and Young Adults with Type' started by Ellen, Nov 28, 2010.

1. Ellen

Ellen Senior Member

2. Mody_Jess_Pony

Mody_Jess_Pony Approved members

It would be fantastic except for the fact 90% of my courses have course packs and are non-refundable and probably can't be bought...... It's a great idea though!

3. Tricia22

Tricia22 Approved members

If I were in classes where I only needed to refer to the materials while in said classes, I would love that idea... BUT... nursing school... I have a feeling my first year as a nurse I will be getting even more friendly with my nursing texts than I have during nursing school...

And on the same topic of college textbooks... why are science texts always like twice as expensive as other texts or more even?! I should have been a history major... then I wouldn't be broke right now!

4. fredntan2

fredntan2 Approved members

almost all my dd's books are rented, i think. we shall see soon how we return them.

5. bgallini

bgallini Approved members

Alex's school offered that this semester. He looked into it but some weren't available to rent and some he thought he'd need beyond this semester. He may have rented some. I'll have to keep suggesting it to him though. It's a great idea!

6. Lucky 868

Lucky 868 Approved members

Ellen,

We rented college textbooks from Chegg in the summer of 2009 for three classes. Went very well. The books arrived quickly, were correct, and were easy to return. I think you log on to the site when you're ready to return them (be sure to do so by the due date or there's a fine, I think) and print a postage-paid return label. I kept the box the books arrived in and used it for the return. Had no problem with Chegg and would recommend them.

Aside from Chegg, some college bookstores are starting to rent books to the students and I think there are a couple of other sites that rent instead of sell.