- advertisement -

Greetings!

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by HarleyGuy, Sep 28, 2009.

1. HarleyGuy

HarleyGuy Approved members

Just signed up here and want to thank everyone for such good info provided. I'm Ron and I am a 57yr old Vietnam Vet that discovered 9 years after I was discharged that I was a type 1 diabetic. I learned after the fact that not only did agent orange do an excellent job as a defoliant, it also did an excellent job in destroying my pancreas as well. I will never complain tho, cuz I have buddies with strange cancers from exposure and all I have is diabetes. I spend a great deal of time at VA hospitals and it doesn't take long to realize there are people worse off.

I love my MM722/CGMS. In spite of all the people that complain, I have had great results with some extremely accurate numbers(meter test vs cgms).
    Even tho that sensor needle tooks ominous, I have yet to feel much of anything. So far, I just switch from my left to right sides. My average sensor life is around 7-9 days. I'm betting the physiology of a person is the main reason some can only get 3 days and others may get 13 days.

Thanks for allowing me to be a part of CWD. I hope I can helps others as I am helped by others.

2. Becky Stevens mom

Becky Stevens mom Approved members

Hey Ron, Welcome to the family. I want to thank you for the service to your country. Im friends with a fella that is 55 and has had type 1d for 41 years. I'll have to let him know you are in here. Join us in the parents chat nights hes often in there.

3. HarleyGuy

Well thank you very much. I was beginning to wonder if I was wearing the plague or something. My introduction post had 65 views and you are the only one to respond here. I did receive a pm from a lovely gal who also thanked me. First forum I have been on that certainly seemed less than "warm" to a new member.