- advertisement -

freestyle light

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by Haleysmom2214, Sep 7, 2010.

  1. Haleysmom2214

    Haleysmom2214 Approved members

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    543
    Have anyone had any problems with the new freestyle light strips? We are having all sorts of issues.
     
  2. lynn

    lynn Approved members

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    3,112
    No, I love them! We have way fewer problems than with the older ones.

    What sorts of problems are you having?
     
  3. ecs1516

    ecs1516 Approved members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    7,028
    Yes, what sort of problems??

    I was about to use some.:cwds:
     
  4. Flutterby

    Flutterby Approved members

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    14,623
    we love the freestyle lite.. what kind of problems are you having? The new strips are even better than the old ones.. The old ones there CAN be issues of it sucking up the blood.. you have to put it at a slight angle on the top, don't press it into the blood drop.
     
  5. BrendaK

    BrendaK Neonatal Diabetes Registry

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,835
    Our only issues with them are the fact that my 10 year old is humiliated to be using test strips with butterflies on them. We might be changing meters completely because of that!
     
  6. Haleysmom2214

    Haleysmom2214 Approved members

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    543
    I have been having alot of errors. And the fact that I could conly use one side. I have tried it many ways. I love the freestyle and their discount:) Maybe I got a bad batch?
     
  7. Flutterby

    Flutterby Approved members

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    14,623
    call abbott and ask for a replacement meter.. we had a meter that I was getting a lot of errors with, err 3 and 4.. they sent me out a new one. :)
     
  8. ecs1516

    ecs1516 Approved members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    7,028
    Yep, that is the big thing with my boys. I love that little light though!
     
  9. stevecu

    stevecu Approved members

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    403
    What do you mean by you could only use one side? That is how they are supposed to work, you use one side or the other then toss the strip. I would suspect that if you were consistently unable to use the same side of multiple strips from multiple lots, then there is a problem with your meter.

    I'm sure Abbott would happily send you a new meter and new strips. They would send you a return label and box and ask you to return the ones giving you trouble.

    They'll do anything to keep a customer ordering hundreds of strips every month.
     
  10. thebestnest5

    thebestnest5 Approved members

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,001
    We have been using Freestyle lite for 4 years. I wish I could switch out our old strips for the new ones.

    I also like the Accu-chek Aviva--just wish their meter had a light and the meter itself wasn't so big.


    just an fyi...Accu-chek has a co-pay assistance program, too.
     
  11. Mom264

    Mom264 Approved members

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,056
    Love the new strips!

    Sorry you are having errors. Just a thought, have you gotten to 500 tests on that meter? If so, switch out the battery. I changed all out meters batteries about three weeks ago and have not had an error since.
     
  12. CAGrandma

    CAGrandma Approved members

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Messages:
    530
    We were having problems too - lots of error messages. Sometimes going through 4-5 strips to get a reading. We called and were told that there are 'old' and 'new' strips but that the old ones should work just fine. Yeah, right, that's why they changed them. But we ended up getting a new meter and the number of errors diminished greatly. So maybe there is some mismatch between the old strips and the old meters?
    If you are having problems, I definitely recommend calling the company.
     
  13. Kaylas mom

    Kaylas mom Approved members

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,306
    Occasionally Kayla goes through a period where she gets errors all the time, but she hasn't complained lately.
     
  14. hiphoppes

    hiphoppes New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    We were just having the same problem with an err3 message just about every time. We had just put in a new battery so I thought that was the problem. I called the company and they are sending us a new meter and some strips.
     

Share This Page

- advertisement -

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice