- advertisement -

Free Style Flash Error Rate

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by D-Dad, Mar 20, 2010.

1. D-Dad

D-Dad Approved members

We've been using the Flash for 5 years and switched over to the newer version about 6 months ago. How we seem to receive a lot more bad readings than we did with the earlier version. I could deal with a 10% variance.... but we often get two readings that are 30% off. Anyone else?

2. Flutterby

Flutterby Approved members

are you talking about the freestyle lite? We've been using the lite since it came out. We find it quite accurate.. meter, cgms reading and a1c all are usually within a few points of each other. :)

3. Christopher

Christopher Approved members

Maybe you could give more detail re: what you mean by "bad readings". For example, are you testing and getting an 80 and then immediately testing again and getting 180? Or are you comparing it against a cgm? I have been using the Flash for almost 3 years and have found it to be pretty accurate. Have you been using the same meter for 5 years? Regularly changing the battery?

4. D-Dad

D-Dad Approved members

Sorry.... So we had been using the flash with no issues... they switched us to the lite... that's when our problems began. We get bad numbers. For example, we can get a 360, test again and get 165..... I realize there is a margin of error but we just seem to be getting two many false highs with the lite.

5. Flutterby

Flutterby Approved members

Have you called to get it replaced? That is obviously beyond the margin of error... anytime we see something like that we wash and retest, and all is good.

If you haven't gotten a replacement, I'd definitely give them a call. We have had very good luck with our Lites, its the only one we use.

6. Ellen

Ellen Senior Member

Have you phoned Abbott to report the frequency of these "outliers"? I would be very interested in hearing their response.