- advertisement -

Does the Omnipod have to be near the PDM to deactivate?

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by bandmkolb, Jul 31, 2012.

  1. bandmkolb

    bandmkolb Approved members

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    189
    Harrison was swimming tonight and when he jumped out of the pool the pod caught on the side wall and ripped off. This was his first pod put on yesterday at CDE office. I wasn't thinking and chunked the old pod in the trash then proceeded to go home (2 blocks away) to put on a new one. I drove in the driveway and thought "oh no, what if the old pod has to be near the PDM to deactivate it so I can put on a new one?!" So we went back to the city pool and went dumpster diving. We found it and got it home and deactivated the old and started the new one. Anyway did we do all that for nothing or was it nessecary?
     
  2. Debdebdebby13

    Debdebdebby13 Approved members

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    318
    I am not much more experienced with the pod than you, but I would think yes, it would need to be near the pod to deactivate.

    Hopefully someone more knowledgeable than me will come along.
     
  3. swellman

    swellman Approved members

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    3,544
    No. You can start a new pod without the old one.

    EDIT: I'm pretty sure ... that would be a fatal design flaw.
     
  4. bandmkolb

    bandmkolb Approved members

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    189
    Thanks! So I am officially a dumpster diver and it wasn't even nessecary. :D
     
  5. caspi

    caspi Approved members

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,134
    LOL! Hey, at least you can scratch that off your bucket list, right?! ;) Where does your son wear the pod? My son wears it on his thighs and we wrap it with vetrap. We have found that helps keep it in place and it rarely pulls away/falls off. And he swims every day.

    Good luck podding! My son really loves it! :)
     
  6. sooz

    sooz Approved members

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,330
    If you ever have a question about Omnipod and need a quick answer you can call their 24/7 customer service number which I thnk is listed on the PDM. They are great at helping.
     
  7. bandmkolb

    bandmkolb Approved members

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    189
    He chose the thigh for the first one. When we changed it this evening we used the other thigh. I will be looking in to something to help hold it in place for sure, the vet wrap sounds like a good idea. The CDE who trained us yesterday said she did not think the stomach or arms would work for him because he is so thin. So I guess he is stuck with thighs and buttocks.
     
  8. bandmkolb

    bandmkolb Approved members

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    189
    Thanks sooz! I never even thought of that.
     
  9. manda81

    manda81 Approved members

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    670
    You have to be close to deactivate, but you don't have to deactivate to sync/start up a new one.

    People may have thought something weird was up with that trashcan when it started death-beeping in a couple days. :p
     
  10. bandmkolb

    bandmkolb Approved members

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    189
    Lol! Can you imagine if someone would have found it they would probably think it was some type of bomb! Haha!
     
  11. swellman

    swellman Approved members

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    3,544
    Yes, these days the bomb squad may very well have been called.
     
  12. manda81

    manda81 Approved members

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    670
    Early on, I had a shipment (before they started packing the boxes with bubble wrap!) that had 4 pods that arrived alarming. You should have seen the FedEx guy carrying that to my door. lol
     
  13. Darryl

    Darryl Approved members

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    4,313
    No, but if you don't deactivate it will beep constantly for a week or so. You can deactivate a pod without the PDM by prying it open with a regular kitchen kife (use a dull blade - the top pops right off), then remove one of the batteries and put the top back on before discarding it.
     
  14. Lizzy731

    Lizzy731 Approved members

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,509
    Not sure if someone mentioned how to activate a new pod when you haven't deactivated the old one but here goes: You proceed with the deactivate pod process on the PDM and it will say something like "can't communicate, retry" and I think after a second time it gives you the option to discard the pod and you select it and then you can activate a new pod.
     
  15. bandmkolb

    bandmkolb Approved members

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    189
    Thank you!
     
  16. Tyggirl

    Tyggirl Approved members

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    62
    As everyone mentioned, you don't need the old to start a new. BUT the old one will start alarming after a while.

    Last week we went swimming while visiting my parents and I acted like a kid with my 14-year-old niece and dove off the diving board 3-4 times. Got home and discovered my pod was completely missing! We went back the next day to go swimming again and were looking for it in the pool. A few kids by the deep end were talking to the life guard about hearing something in the pool. Yep it was the pod! LOL Once we found where it was, one of the kids retrieved it for me. Then I had to bury it in a towel for the rest of our visit.
     
  17. bandmkolb

    bandmkolb Approved members

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    189
    Imagine those poor scared kids.. Lol!
     

Share This Page

- advertisement -

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice