- advertisement -

Do you see a CDE in addition to the Endo?

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by Mrs Puff, Feb 3, 2013.

1. Mrs Puff

Mrs Puff Approved members

I was noticing in the "How often do you see your endo within the year?" thread that several people mentioned going to a CDE. The only time we saw a CDE was at diagnosis in the hospital, and later when my son tried the pump. The pump one was the one suggested by the pump company so it was all about training to use it, and she was a little elderly and not the best at it. The endo never suggested going to a CDE as part of our care and I never really thought about it. Which at this moment I find really ironic since I am a nursing student and have thought about continuing my education to become a CDE, lol! Looking back I think there could have been some benefits. Of course my town only has one CDE and she is at the small, local hospital. We do not have an endo. We drive about 90 minutes to see ours, and that is when she is at her branch office. Normally she is 2.5 hours away.

Back to the question. Why do you go to the CDE? Do you find it beneficial? Did you go more as a newbie and less as the years went by after diagnosis? Were they knowledgeable about T1 and kids or were they primarily type 2?

2. Beach bum

Beach bum Approved members

We see our CDE every other visit. So, 2x's a year with her, 2x's a year with the endo. We have no choice, this is how or clinic works. I like mixing it up between the two, two different perspectives on D care.

I LOVE our nurse, she really gets diabetes management. Sometimes I feel that I get more out of our visit with her than our doc (though our doc is fantastic too!).

Let me stand corrected, our nurse has every letter in the alphabet after her name...but CDE. She always jokes that I keep making her a CDE, yet she doesn't want to be one:)

Last edited: Feb 3, 2013
  3. MomofSweetOne

MomofSweetOne Approved members