- advertisement -

Diabetes Education/Information

Discussion in 'Parents of College Kids and Young Adults with Type' started by Tarheel84, Sep 18, 2007.

1. Tarheel84

Tarheel84 Approved members

When your child/teen was 1st diagnosed where did you go for information/education? I hear that many of you got educated while in the hospital but for those that (fortunately) didn't have to be hospitalized what did you do? Did your doctor give you information or maybe a CDE?? Did you go to class? For such a complex disease it seems that so much is expected to be learned on your own without a doctor's assistance.

I get overwhelmed when I read some posts because I think where the heck did they learn all that??? My degree is in history not medicine so all this is overwhelming.

Linda

2. Alpha

Alpha Approved members

Hi Linda, I asked my Dr about this even though our son was taken to hosptial and we we're taught there, we would have been taught through the same people.

Here we would have been refered to the diabetic clinic, in our case the peads specalist and would be being seen by them, and educated by them.

So no different really other than we would have had 4 days in hospital.

3. Amy C.

Amy C. Approved members

We received basic education on managing things in the hospital, but most of the learning has been on our own.

After 10 years, I still learn from sources like this forum. I am on the parents@cwd e-mail list as well. I learned how to be brave and to take charge of my son's care from them.

I have read a lot of books, until I noticed they all were saying about the same thing.

I learn from the endo at each visit (usually).

I have a degree in music which hardly qualifies me to know what I do about diabetes.

Living with Diabetes is confusing, but it is possible for a non-medically trained person to learn what needs to be done. The issue is having enough time to keep track of everything.

4. wildfire6299@yahoo.com

wildfire6299@yahoo.com Approved members