- advertisement -

Dexcom or mm?

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by DsMom, Jun 12, 2011.

1. DsMom

DsMom Approved members

Sure this has all been discussed at length before, but I am not good at searching and can't find what I need!:eek:

We are deciding between the dex and mm cgm and need some help. Please feel free to comment on the following...

Looked quickly at the online tutorials...the dex looks pretty complicated to insert and looks like a manual inserter...is it manual or spring-loaded? The mm tutorial looks (although it is not really animated) spring-loaded and easier to insert. Will use numbing cream...but do your kids complain of more pain with CGM than with pump?

The dex says it is only waterproof up to 3 feet for so many minutes...does this mean you can't swim with the sensor on? The mm just said "waterproof" but I could not find how deep or how long. So...how do your kids swim while CGMing?

How loud can you make the alarms with either one? I have read threads about this and it seems to be an issue that you can't hear the alarms in your child's room. Plus, my own alarm clock is not even waking me up lately!!:rolleyes: I might need a megaphone attached to the darn CGM!:eek::p Do you find the alarms go off a lot? I'm worried I'll be getting up at night even more with the thing alarming all the time.

I saw that the mm said you can leave the sensor on for 7 days...do you find that to be true? What about the dex...how long can the sensor stay on? (But I may have gotten these mixed up and the dex is 7 days??? Info overload and I'm doing this from my memory of the online stuff.)

Any and all info and comments appreciated! What to do, what not to do, special tricks or tips?? Thanks!

2. emm142

emm142 Approved members