- advertisement -

Day camp for T1 5 yr old?

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by Snowflake, Feb 20, 2015.

1. Snowflake

Snowflake Approved members

Does anyone have any experience sending a T1 5 year old to a non-D day camp?

Our situation: Grandma has offered to host my 5 yr old T1 for a week this summer, and to send her to The World's Best Day Camp that all of her cousins attended and that dd has always wanted to go to. My husband and I have a lot of experience training multiple preschools on T1, but I'm trying to imagine how this would go with a summer camp that has a mix of teenage and adult counselors. I'm also not sure it's even reasonable to ask a day camp to commit to the necessary training for a camper who will only attend for a week? (I've looked at the DOJ's summer camp resolution agreements, but I'm not eager to pull out the law in a child care setting -- I'm saving my powder for dealing with the public schools!)

As an aside: the ADA does host a 1-week diabetes day camp somewhat close to grandma's house, but the timing of that session is tricky with other family obligations.

2. virgo39

virgo39 Approved members