- advertisement -

Daughter overweight and struggling

Discussion in 'Parents of Teens' started by cmckinney, May 21, 2013.

1. cmckinney

cmckinney New Member

My 13 year old daughter was diagnosed a year ago. She has since gained almost 50 lbs, putting her at 5'3" and almost 200 lbs. She seems to be always hungry ( as teens often are) and I struggle with limiting her intake when she is miserable. She has now started sneaking food into her room and eating without covering her carbs. She is 2 weeks away from starting on the Animas One touch Ping pump, and she has been having some crazy highs (418 fasting this am, but 193 yesterday at dinner).
    Will this even out once she is on the pump? Any ideas how to motivate her to decrease her intake? She is not sedentary, she is very high energy and plays outside with siblings all the time.
    Thanks for the help, this is my first attempt at this....

2. Mish

Mish Approved members

Has the endo addressed this issues? The problem is that at this weight she's going to become insulin resistant if not develop full blown type 2 in addition to type 1. It's known as double diabetes.

The problem is that she's always high, which makes her always hungry which leads to sneaking food which leads to being high. The best way to break it is to limit her food intake. That's the only real way you're going to tackle this. At 13, she's well off the weight chart. The high end of weight 95% is only 158. Her height only puts her at the 75%.

Since a 13 year old isn't shopping for groceries and stocking the house, I think the burden falls to you to simply not buy the junk she's eating and sneaking and only preparing healthy meals in normal sized portions. I'd also ask your pediatrician or your endo clinic to enroll her in a program specifically for overweight teens.

Good luck.

3. danismom79

danismom79 Approved members