- advertisement -

concerns about new endo

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by steph, May 1, 2012.

1. steph

steph Approved members

I am fairly new to T1D as my daughter (age 22 month) was just diagnosed at age 18 months. Her endo left the practice last month, and I have huge concerns about her new endo. At our first meeting she talked about switching us to the pen, gave us a pen, cartridge, and 10 pen needles, but then never called in the script. Even after I called the office twice and called the emergency on call line twice. Thankfully I had syringes at home to use. Then three weeks later she calls in the wrong script. Lately my daughter has been high, so we figured she needed to go back on Lantus (she has been off since late Dec) I called to discuss this, and she said to start her with 4 units. My daughter started off with 1 unit at diagnosis and was having major hypos even with 1/2 unit. I told her I refused to give her that amount, that her last dose was 1/2 unit. And she said "fine, then give her 2 units" If she was sure about her dose, why would she change it? I decided to go with my gut and give her 1 unit, and it dropped her to 55 within 2 hours. Imagine if I gave her 4 units of a 24 hour insulin. We would be pumping her with sugar all night and probably end up in the ER. I feel that this is negligence, and if I had been the type of person that just blindly follows doctors instructions, my daughter may have ended up in a coma. My question is, is this something that I should report or make a complaint about? I am worried that she could hurt someone's child. I am asking to change doctors, but should I do more? Or am I overreacting? Right now I am just making adjustments very slowly and letting her numbers tell me when I have it right. I don't trust the endo, and feel like I am on my own.

2. Amy C.

Amy C. Approved members