- advertisement -

change lantus to am dosing

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by kim5798, Oct 17, 2013.

1. kim5798

kim5798 Approved members

If I want to change the time of the lantus dose to the morning versus evening...what is the approach? Do I not give the pm dose tonight...cover any highs related to the missed basal overnight & then give the dose in the am? I know I can look this up in a book, but thought I'd get opinions.

thanks!

2. TheTicefam

TheTicefam New Member

I'm totally new at this but the hospital told us that if we wanted to change the lantis it would have to be in 3 hour incriments... so if you give it at say 9pm.... tonight instead of at 9 you could give it at midnight... the next night 3am... then next 6am.... until you reach your time frame!

Adrienne

3. MomofSweetOne

MomofSweetOne Approved members

When I forgot Lantus one night until 4:30 a.m., my daughter decided the plan was to switch it by 2 hours earlier each night until we were back to bedtime. We had started with 1 morning dose of Lantus until they decided she needed the peak to help with nighttime numbers. We were advised to split the doses until it was completely moved. 7 units one morning, 6 the next & 1 at bedtime, 5 the next a.m. & 2 at bedtime, 4 & 3....and so on until the entire 7 units were at bedtime. My daughter hated the way Lantus burned, so when she was faced with the double shot again, she assertively made her alternate plan & it worked.

I don't miss Lantus at all.

4. missmakaliasmomma

missmakaliasmomma Approved members

I wouldn't just not give basal and correct highs. I'd personally do half the basal, correct those highs, which wouldn't be as bad as with no basal at all. Then do al l of at the time you want. But you'd probably have to have a good amount of uncovered eating.