- advertisement -

Celiac...

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by RylensMommy, Jul 24, 2011.

1. RylensMommy

RylensMommy Approved members

I've noticed many people saying "dx-celiac..." I've been looking it up to get a better understanding of it.
    My question is, with being diagnosed with type 1 diabetes, are you at greater risk of having it? What kind of complications does it add to the mix?
    Thank you.
    I'm new to this world and want to understand every last bit of it so I really have appreciated all of the answers and way people have reached out to comfort.
    Thank you, again!

2. bibrahim

bibrahim Approved members

There is a celiac section on this website which may give you some answers. My DD was tested at Dx and one year ann. but I am not sure if they keep testing every year or not. It is also auto-immune so that is the connection, I think.

BTW, welcome to the board.:cwds:

3. Paula+four

Paula+four Approved members

I'm sure someone will post stats for you but I know our endo checks her patients annually for thyroid and celiac diseases.

My son's celiac testing came back positive at Type 1 diagnosis, then again six months later when he was retested. He then had a confirmation endoscopy because he had no external symptoms of celiac. Once he was diagnosed the whole side of my husband's family was tested and one of our daughters was positive too. Her only symptom was really slow growing hair. We have to retest our other daughter every two years. My husband tested negative but all his symptoms of irritable bowel syndrome cleared up when he went gluten free.

I wouldn't worry about celiac though. You can ask your endo to be sure they are checking but I'm sure they do. If your child or anyone else in your family tests positive at some point you will learn to adjust your meals and it will be fine. For us, it is easier than diabetes. Hopefully though, you'll be one of the many who will never have to worry about it.

4. Caldercup