- advertisement -

Can't Work because of Child in School

Discussion in 'Parents of Children with Type 1' started by FrankieMitts, Aug 31, 2012.

1. FrankieMitts

FrankieMitts New Member

I need some advice or some course of action to take. My son is 4 years old and starting all day kindergarten soon. I tried to talk to the school in June but they didn't think it was a big deal and put it off until the week before school. The principal has informed me that I have to come in twice a day and check my sons glucose level as well as be available all hours in case he needs care or be checked otherwise. I'm a struggling teacher trying to find work and I can't work during the day now because the school will not care for my son nor do they even have any interest in learning emergency care or receiving any kind of diabetic education. We cannnot afford for me to sit around all day waiting to care for him. I can't find a job where I can just get up and leave whenever I have to, that would be absurd. I have no idea what to do. I need to work, but I can't care for my son all day at school either. My husband cannot leave his job and we can't afford for me to stay home. Please help.

2. cm4kelly

cm4kelly Approved members

Do you have any other school options?

I am assuming that since this is a four-year-old that this is a private school. Are there any other private schools in your area that you can contact? I know when my son started 3K - I had to call three schools to find one that would take him.

If it is a public school, they are required to provide care, but with a private school the same requirements are not in place. Another option - might be to take your child to a private in-home sitter that would be willing to learn to test blood glucose and give insulin.