- advertisement -

Anyone taken the Auto Train to Disney World?

Discussion in 'Parents Off Topic' started by DsMom, Jun 26, 2012.

1. DsMom

DsMom Approved members

We are in the beginning stages of planning a trip to Disney World. My husband originally wanted to drive there (from Pennsylvania:eek:)...an idea the rest of us aren't too fond of. But flying has become such a pain and so expensive...so we were thinking about the Auto Train.

Has anyone here done this? What was your experience like?

2. Beach bum

Beach bum Approved members

When I used to work at Disney my parents didn't want me driving to FL by myself so they put me on it every summer. It was OK. You get on outside of DC and it ends in Sanford. You need to factor in the time you have to get there for loading on the car, offloading etc. IMO, I would have just preferred to drive as it does add on several hours of wait time.

That being said, it was fun. Being a poor college student, I couldn't afford a sleeper car, so I slept in my seat. Met interesting people and saw a few neat things along the way.

3. Joretta

Joretta Approved members

I have not personally done auto train but I did take the train from Disney area to dc. We did a sleeper car on the way to our vacation. That was fun my child and I had so much fun. We played games talked very bonding she was 10. Now with that being Said room was small sleeper room. Very cozy we had to move things though to use the toilet and there was no privacy and I mean none.

4. MamaC

MamaC Approved members

Living quite near the Auto Train station, I know LOADS of people who swear by it for transpo to and from FL.

5. selketine

selketine Approved members

I've looked at it a few times vs driving or flying and it is very expensive. I think every time I've looked it was quite a bit cheaper to fly and rent a car - and flying is probably easier overall.