- advertisement -

Anyone do volunteer jobs?

Discussion in 'Parents Off Topic' started by StillMamamia, Jul 10, 2010.

1. StillMamamia

StillMamamia Approved members

What do you do?

2. Mom2rh

Mom2rh Approved members

I am working with an organization called Love Chico...it is basically a church based service day. This year is the third year of it...it started with 4 churches participating and this year there will be over 25. Folks don't attend church on one Sunday and go into the community to do service projects at schools, parks, assisted living facilities, etc. I am helping with the PR (I'm a writer/editor by training).

3. Amy C.

Amy C. Approved members

I am in charge of the parent's group at my son's school.
    I in in charge of Sunday school and the choir director at my church.
    I am an officer on the board of a community orchestra and play bassoon with them as well.
    I am the secretary of my son's boy scout troop.

4. sugarmonkey

sugarmonkey Approved members

I volunteer Paula. I work at our local Salvation Army Store 6 hours a week. I've been there 5 years now, started the week before Phillip was dxd. I love it. The boss is great, doesn't mind me ringing/texting Phillip multiple times a day or having to run down to the school. And the kids come with me during the holidays. My main job is to sort and price the books that are donated, but I also work on the counter serving a lot.

I also deliver library books to people who can't get out of their homes once a fortnight. This fits in with my goal of one day being a librarian.

I have also in the past done office work for the Cancer Society and Unemployed Rights Centre. And tidied shelves at the local library. That one was boring, but it gave me library experience.

5. MamaC

MamaC Approved members

Currently:
    JDRF mentor
    Volunteer in the Career Center at the high school
    Classroom helper/tutor at the elementary school
    Team parent for high school swim and dive team