- advertisement -

Another newbie here...

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by momof2greatkids, Jan 4, 2011.

1. momof2greatkids

momof2greatkids Approved members

Hi, everyone - My daughter was diagnosed with Type 1 last month. Since my husband has Type 1, we were able to catch it before she got sick. She was losing weight and drinking a lot. Even with what we knew, we were still shocked with her diagnosis.

We've been lucky so far. Audrey is doing amazing, and tests her blood and gives her own shots (except the Lantus - I give it). We have a great doctor (and an awesome nurse). BGs have been really good, too. The thing that scares me is that I know there will be bad times, and we won't necessarily see them coming. I'm scared and sad to think that eventually, Audrey will have a bad low, and don't want her to go through that. That's what I hate most about diabetes - doing everything by the book doesn't ensure consistent results. That just doesn't fit my nature.

We would love to see Audrey on a pump, but she is resistent. She says the shots don't bother her, and she doesn't want a pump. I think what it comes down to is that she doesn't want to wear the pump. We, and the doctor, have talked about different ways to wear the pump that are more discreet, but she isn't too interested. I think if someone comes out with smaller tubeless pump, she would be interested. She would have so much more freedom and control with the pump, but it's ultimately her decision.

Since I've been reading on this board, I've been surprised by how many of you have multiple family members with Type 1. The endo in the hospital and a diabetes educator I know have both said it's very rare to see a family history of Type 1.

I'm looking forward to getting to know you all. I'm sure I'll have questions, but hopefully I'll be able to contribute some, too. I'm so thankful to have resources like this available - I've learned so much from you all already!

2. JeremysDad

JeremysDad Approved members